NPC 2017 has ended
View analytic
avatar for Anand Deshpande

Anand Deshpande

Persistent Systems
Founder, CMD
Anand Deshpande is the Founder, Chairman and Managing Director of Persistent Systems (BSE & NSE: PERSISTENT), a Company that he founded in 1990. He is responsible for the overall leadership, strategy, and management of the company. A true technology visionary, Anand’s strengths lie in identifying and investing in next-generation technologies early on and encouraging internal entrepreneurship to ensure that Persistent stays at the forefront of technology innovation. Anand has been the driving force in growing Persistent from start-up to the publically-traded global company of today. Anand has been recognized for his technology and business leadership as well as his contributions to public welfare. His recent awards include the CSI Fellowship Award for outstanding achievement in the field of Information Technology, the Career Achievement Award from the School of Informatics at Indiana University, Bloomington and the IIT Kharagpur Distinguished Alumnus Award. An alumni of IIT Kharagpur, Anand has a B. Tech degree in Computer Science and Engineering (1984), a Master’s degree (1986) and a Ph.D. (1989) in Computer Science from Indiana University, Bloomington (USA). Anand worked as MTS at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories in Palo Alto, California from 1989 to 1990. As an active member of the database community, Anand was the host of Very Large Data Bases (VLDB) conference in Mumbai in 1996 and ICDE 2003 in Bangalore. Anand is currently co-chairing the VLDB 2016 conference. With the vision of creating a vibrant entrepreneurial ecosystem in India, he is the founding member of iSPIRT, India’s first product think tank. He has actively participated in program committees of international conferences like member of Industrial Program Committee: VLDB 2003 in Berlin, VLDB 2004 in Toronto, IEEE 2005, ICDE 2005 in Tokyo, VLDB 2007 in Vienna; Program Committee Chair for Annual Convention CSI 2009 in Pune; General Chair for COMAD 2008 in Mumbai; Industrial Program Committee Chair for DASFAA 2008 in New Delhi; Organizing Committee Chair for ISEC 2009 in Pune; launched the ACM India Council, 2009.

My Speakers Sessions

Thursday, November 2